Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to secondary to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not on enough learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree ?

From so many generations, importance is given in teaching theory rather than giving hands-on experience to students in every step of academics. I agree that this method is being extensively followed in many institutions even though it is not beneficial for students in the long run. Emphasis is given to the theoretical approach because the structure is defined in a way to support the assessment of students. The evaluation process involves a pattern where students are expected to answer the questions on an answer sheet which will test the basic understanding of the individuals. In order to succeed in the examinations, practical knowledge will not be of much help to the individuals rather the expectation is how they effectively put on paper. Additionally, students don't perform anything practically until they start working where it is required to independently show their skills. So, people always give significance to the factual studies ignoring the struggle students have to go through when they start their professional careers. Furthermore, it is not possible to assess a person completely in terms of pragmatic skills considering the limited time set by educational authorities for conducting exams. Also, not all institutions have the required infrastructure where practical knowledge can be taught and tested. This requires a major transformation in the education system in terms of facilitation which is not going to be simple. For all these reasons a considerable amount of time is spent on learning theory in all the levels of education until it is a necessity. To conclude, the current procedure does not concentrate on learning practical skills but to gain theoretical knowledge which has to be changed in the coming years.