There are many towns and cities designed and constructed in previous centuries, and they are suitable for those times What problem is caused by this today? How to solve this problem?

Old towns and cities built centuries ago are commonly seen in modern society, sometimes inconveniencing city dwellers and the government. Under this circumstance, some measures should be taken to improve this situation.      A major problem related to this phenomenon is that the development of modern cities is hampered to a large extent, which is of direct impact to residents’ life. As for the comfort and convenience, there is still much room for improvement, partly because these old towns fail to provide people living there with more amenities as their modern counterparts do. For instance, it is difficult to construct some buildings like shopping malls, underground parking lot, office buildings and sports facilities, which are all closely linked to modern life.       Another problem is that the increasing demand for housing may not be met in these areas. The past few years have witnessed great changes in population distribution, mainly characterized by rural-urban migration and population explosion; housing shortage is the ensuing problem many governments face now. If not changed, some of these places cannot accommodate a growing population as a result of low space utilization.       Since the problem has no single solution, it must be fought on many fronts. To begin with, some buildings can be demolished so as to construct some modern buildings to make the most of the limited resource. More high-rise apartment buildings, for example, can be built to satisfy the needs for housing and improve the poor housing condition at the same time. In addition, historic buildings can be restored on account of their commercial and cultural value. Therefore, the government can use this to facilitate the economic growth through tourism, thereby pouring more money in the urban development and urban planning.In conclusion, more time and energy should be invested in handling the above problems in order to make both residents and governments benefit from this situation.