Some TV programmes, video of violent games and other leisure activities are harmful for children. How harmful they are? What can be done to solve these problems?

It is easier for children to access different kinds of entertainment contents thanks to the development of technology, however many can negatively affect their development. It is clear that these are problems that need to tackle by society. Children can quickly learn from what they experience thus by watching harmful TV programmes or playing video games, they can learn inappropriate behaviour quickly. Firstly, teenagers may watch movies related to murderers and may be obsessed with it. Thus there can be a higher chance of committing crimes. Secondly, kids often copy actions that they have seen so they may have a high chance of repeating those on movies without aware of their misbehaviour. For example, they may see that bullying others is cool, hence they will do the same thing with their classmates. Finally, teenagers may addict to the content and cannot focus on studying. In fact, many students addict to online games so they drop classes to spend time playing. With the reasons stated above, it is clear that children have a high chance of being affected by harmful content. To prevent these problems, there should be cooperation between different parties. On one hand, parents and schools need to control the contents that children can have access to. For instance, parents may need to set up parental controls on their children's computer so that they do not spend too much time using them. Furthermore, they may need to block websites that have adult contents to prevent teenagers from watching them. On the other hand, the authority may also help to solve these issues by banning harmful sites before they reach to the citizens. There might also be 'Internet police' who will report and block any potential risks. To conclude, children may be affected by TV shows or video games they consume so different methods are needed to filter contents. It is not only parents' responsibilities but also the authority's to control access to them.