Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertisement plays a vital role in the marketing of products and services. It is argued that despite the actual needs of the society, the maximum sale of popular consumer goods depends upon the power of advertising in which they are sold. This essay will argue why advertising is entirely necessary for spite of those essential human needs. First of all, it is generally believed that in today's modernization, people's taste and preferences are changing day by day which forces them to buy products and services in accordance with the fashion. In other words, the various thoughts like "what will be other's view?" are generally influenced by social media that promotes advertising. One clear example is Facebook where almost 80% of the population is totally engaged for enhancing their high profile and presenting their daily activities. In my experience, people tend to prefer more popular products by which they believe to increase their self-esteem. Therefore, advertisement is assumed as one of the powerful tools in marketing. Secondly, another very convincing argument in favour of advertising is the majority of the user who pays for famous items instead of basic needs. This is to say that marketers display their goods in such a way that attracts the eye-sights of the customer. As a result, consumer's willingness toward's the products significantly rises that ends up only through their purchase. This is clearly shown by the fact that the more popular products the more sales which was revealed by Tribhuwan University. I know from the experience of surfing and analyzing different online shopping websites. Consequently, it results in high sales. Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that these are the ingoing facts of modern society. Therefore, I strongly believe that despite purchasing basic needs product, people are more focused on popular goods because of attractiveness that changes their preferences.