Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation has more advantages or more disadvantages ?

The importance of work-life balance has been a debatable topic over the years. Whilst a number of persons feel that overworking has more advantages, others are totally against this notion. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working longer hours and explain why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Studies show that there are two major reasons why people may prefer to stay longer at the office which includes career progression and increase in salary. Firstly, some employees feel that the more hours they give to their employers, the higher their chances of promotion. For instance, I had a colleague who always spent a longer period at the premises than the standard hours and was promoted because of this. Secondly, the staff are more inclined to give extra time because of monetary rewards. In recent times, a number of organisations encourage their workers to stay after office duration as they would be paid for the over- time. For example, Interswitch pays their hires more money for every additional period they spend at the office. Thus, the advantages of career advancement and salary benefits may influence workers decision. However, I believe there are more disadvantages to working over- time than advantages. This includes health concerns and less exercise time. First, not having a work-life balance has been less beneficial as it is proven to significantly increase health exposure. Take, for instance, research has shown that diseases such as high blood pressure, malaria and back pain are typically caused by stress. Furthermore, spending more time at the organisation means reduced exercise. Numerous studies have indicated that exercising is very beneficial as it is directly correlated with productivity levels. In other words, the more you spend time at the gym, the higher your productivity levels. A recent study by L.U.T.H showed that 80% of working professionals were less stressed when they visited the gym at least twice a week compared to those that did not visit at all. It is therefore safe to conclude that providing less time for leisure activities is more disadvantageous due to the influence on the health and reduced period for exercise. In summary, there are many reasons to suggest that imbalance of work and life is less beneficial due to health and lack of exercise. Findings show that there are far more drawbacks to this. It is therefore recommended that organisations discourage their staff from working more hours and create policies that would improve health and productivity levels.