In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking, since its inception, has attracted positive and negative attention. For those who like smoking, they have made an informed decision to continue with the habit. While others have acted on their knowledge and prefer not to smoke. In view of public well-being, many countries do not permit smoking in public places and it is appropriate to do so. The serious health complications due to smoking have been highlighted time and again by individual medical professionals and state healthcare authorities. However, some individuals still continue smoking and are called as active smokers. Naturally, these people socialize and smoke in public places too, contaminating the air for everyone in their vicinity. This leads to the next problem of passive smoking. People who breathe the same smoke-filled air, experience the detrimental effects too, albeit slowly, compared to an active smoker. Thus, in a public setting, it is appropriate to restrict smoking in a common or closed area, however, uncomfortable it may be for the smoker. Many public places such as shopping malls, bars, restaurants, workplaces and busy streets have demarcated smoking areas and smoking rooms. The smoking area is primarily meant to isolate polluted air and keep the larger space, smoke-free. More and more states across the United States are implementing lawful restrictions on smoking, nevertheless, a sizeable number still continue with the open smoking practice. Similarly, restricted smoking will aid in improving life expectancy and decrease lung cancer patients by eliminating the passive smoker population from the patient count. In conclusion, states should impose lawful restrictions on smoking in public areas to protect public health interests and minimize healthcare expenditure on smoking-related diseases. The benefits may not be visible immediately, but, will surely have a significant impact in the long run.