Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that social media flourishes tremendously in all age categories; nevertheless, it possesses some threats for users if personal information is shared on this giant online platform. It seems that there are merits which certainly outweigh the demerits, those are outlined in this essay. To begin with, it is often said that social media can become the most popular online learning platform for numerous students in several fields. The giant Facebook is the best example where many authenticated-universities organise online classes for their students; hence, it acts as the global distance educational tool for those learners. Moreover, there are numerous independent small-scale businesses which thrive in this existing society. For instance, domestic businesses like Snapdeel, which booms in this social media. Furthermore, the public receives up-to-date information online websites such as Twitter, Instagram, WhatsApp and many inter sites, where the news, current affairs, scientific and technological magazines are available in the form of e-format which are the most preferable ones in this current era. Therefore, the social media platform serves several purposes like education, business and the news. However, there are some disadvantages like stealing personal authenticated-information if personal contacts are displayed without a proper security breach. As the public can obtain information, that several communities upload personal images online which could go viral and some are modified pornographically, followed by sharing for global access which brings several severe inconveniences. Besides, drug-trafficking escalates in social media websites. Very recently, the Drug Control Department of India revealed that 60% of money transactions are proceeded illegally regarding unlawful purchases of such drugs in social media. Drugs like ganja, heroin, cocaine and some narcotics. Thus, social media aids for such unlawful activities. In conclusion, indeed, the social media brings positives: online education, e-trades and the news which certainly outweigh the negatives like drug-trafficking and unauthorised access to personal data.