Rising university fees and limited employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and should only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's competitive world, there are almost twice the students as compared to the number of jobs in the fields like philosophy and history. Certain people believe that institutes should close such arts courses and should include more practical degree courses. I completely disagree with this and think every subject has there own value and should be taught at higher levels also. On the one hand, I believe that students should be allowed to study arts subjects because of freedom and options. In other words, children should have the freedom to choose what subjects they want to study. For example, my friend's Raj parents wanted him to become a doctor but he wanted to be a photographer, but his parents forced him into MBBS. He dropped out after two years as he was forced to do something he did not like. Additionally, by giving more options to study, students can be divided into different subjects equally. this can help them to understand things better in class. On the other hand, some people want arts subjects should not be taught at universities because of the limited number of jobs and higher fees. But this approach can have several drawbacks. Firstly, there will more students in all other courses, hence increasing competition among students to get limited employment. For instance, currently,ten people interview for a Java developer job but after this,the number of students might go to a hundred. Secondly, there would be no expert on these subjects and by the time might disappear from our study course. To conclude, I strongly believe that schools should be allowed to teach all subjects as it gives students more options and freedom to choose from. moreover,if this does not happen, we might end up losing arts subject permanently from our study course.