Many people say that universities should only offer to young students with highest marks, others say they should accept people with all ages, even if they did not do well. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

People have different views about whether tertiary schooling should be given to young students with top scores or all individuals regardless of their ages and poor academic results. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my opinion regarding this. On the one hand, some argue that only top students can have access to university for a couple of reasons. First and foremost, young students are believed to possess a higher level of intelligence and adaptation than their old counterparts. Thus, the Ministry of schooling and training, as well as educators at universities and colleges, can save a great amount of time and effort when designing suitable syllabus for this targeted learner. Moreover, many believe that we should invest more in educating potential students with excellent academic performances and abilities instead of old and poorly-skilled ones, for these finest students will become the main workforce contributing greatly to the national prosperity. On the other hand, I believe that higher schooling should be accessible to learners of all ages despite having poor academic capabilities. First, it is the basic human right for all individuals to be equally treated and schooling is one of the basic needs of every human being to pursue. One’s right will be seriously violated if he cannot be accepted to enter university simply because of his old age and poor academic performance. Furthermore, schooling plays an integral role in the development of every nation and it creates an opportunity for people to get a more decent job to earn money. If schooling is not equally provided to every resident in a nation, that country may suffer greatly from an increasing unemployment rate and this could be accompanied by rising crime rate and social vices. In conclusion, even though there are some reasons why many hold the belief that only top students are allowed to enter university, I would argue that all students should be given an opportunity to prove their abilities despite factors including age and scores.