The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that the exploitation of oil and gas from remote areas should be encouraged due to the high demand for it globally. Nevertheless, it brings lots of benefits to developing countries, however,there is can be some disadvantages to there decisions. Oil and gas have been one of the major demand from both developing countries and developed countries. Firstly, the main merit of it, is that it can be a means of internal revenue in a settlement, which can serve as a source of income, in order to make payment for their yearly budget, and also lead to inter-relationships between different countries. Secondly, another positive value from these exploits, is that it helps in creating more employments for youths in the job market. For instance, the Bronx petroleum company in Nigeria has really uplifted many unemployed young adults from the job market by increasing many infrastructures. This has helped in improving the security of the country, especially the rural environment where it is located. On the other hand, irrespective of these advantages, there are still drawbacks to this. The main demerit of this is that it can sometimes lead to insecurity in the villages or states. For example, in the south-south area of Nigeria, where they have many oil wells, the local youths sometimes revote to the government, whenever they do not receive monetary settlements from the federal government, hereby breaking the oil pipes and causing more harm, such as pollution, fire explosion, and rubbery. This can also lead to fights between the youths and those in power causing unnecessary loss of innocent lives. In summary, although the benefit of exploitation of petro is helpful to a lot of individuals, however, the negative effect should be looked into, and also be managed properly, in order to avoid any loss of innocent lives.