Some people believe that the fast pace and stress of modern life is having a negative effect on families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people feel that family life is being harmed by the high-speed and stress of contemporary lifestyles. I somewhat agree with this opinion because the fast pace leads to less time for families to be together, and stress leads to arguments among family members; however, due to the increased time pressure and stress families are forced to cooperate more, which brings them closer together. The main reason why I believe family life is being compromised is that families have less time to be with each other. As individual family members are busier at work and with their social lives, they have less time to spend with their family. As well as this, people have many things they have to do these days such as checking email, updating their online social status and so less time is left for family life. To illustrate, I spend about two hours online every night attending to daily correspondence before chatting with my family members, whereas ten years ago I would spend time with my family as soon as I walked in the door. In addition, the strain of life these days means that even when families do get together arguments are more likely. This stems from the fact that everyone feels tired and they are more likely to get irritated and to react to their heightened emotional levels. However, it does seem reasonable that this tension may also lead to positive outcomes. One such possibility is that family members will cooperate more in order to overcome time limitations. For instance, they may share household chores, so that everybody has time to relax afterwards. In conclusion, I partly agree that the rapid pace and stressful nature of contemporary lifestyles are having negative consequences on family relationships. This is because family members have less time, and when they are together they feel less relaxed. Nonetheless, I admit that sometimes adversity can bring people closer together. Given this situation, it seems that family members should try to be more supportive of one another and also parents need to set aside regular times for families to relax together.