The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in cities and towns closing. Do you agree or disagree ?

Undoubtedly, with the recent advancements in the field of technology, timely-delivery of every service has become significantly convenient for humans, thus globally accelerating the requirement of instant services. Due to this, online shopping has observed a considerable uplift. As a result, some folks, including me, deem that the aforesaid will soon replace the need for physical shops thereby leading to the closure of such outlets in cities and towns. In this essay, we will discuss the same along with certain references. Firstly, the internet, in every possible way, has acted as a magical lamp to the entire humanity, which has completely altered the course of time hence leading to prioritising super-accelerated deliveries for any kind of task. Thus, with the introduction of e-commerce portals, the shopping sector has been completely revolutionised. For example, technology-giants like Amazon, Flipkart have almost discarded the hassle to physically shop for commodities, especially in the mindsets of the millennials. Starting from microscopic pins up to enormous washing machines, a consumer can find everything with a lucrative range as well as transparency. Moreover, there are additional features like order tracking, consumer-friendly replace and return policies and are time-saving of course. Therefore, in my view, the inclination towards such services is increasing exponentially. Additionally, the recent global pandemic of Covid-19 has forced humans to shrink physical contact as much as possible. Thus, giving a boost to Artificial Intelligence and Virtual Reality as a replacement. The future-impact of this pandemic will indeed extensively affect the confectionary stores, utility shops to ensure their presence online. For instance, Grofers, an online delivery platform in India, which was in a loss since its initiation, saw a boost of around 200% in their sales from April'2020 to August'2020. Though, these offline modes will not completely vanish from the market as a certain section of shoppers still prefers the substantial feeling of an object before purchasing it. Nevertheless, the shrink in brick-and-mortar segment will be noteworthy. In conclusion, I strongly opine that technology always focuses on evolving pre-existing conventional methods of operations. Therefore, it can be summarized as the reason for diminishing traditional confectionaries, other outlets. The aforementioned may not impact immediately however, this is a gradually changing scenario.