Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is important to find out which subjects a student should opt for tertiary education. Some people believe that they should choose science-related majors for higher studies in order to procure a lucrative job, while others opine that there should be complete freedom for students to choose subjects of their own interest. In my opinion, it is essential to allow students to learn what they like because it reduces failure rates. On the one hand, there is no doubt that science courses are quintessential for earning a job after the completion of university education. The reason for this is that most of the sectors these days are computer oriented and the demand for science graduates is increasing with every passing day. To illustrate, with the surge in digitalisation in India, there is a 40% increase in the science-related jobs in comparison to other areas. Therefore, these subjects are preferred as they provide job assurance. On the other hand, providing liberty to the students to choose majors according to their interest can certainly lead to lower failure rates. This is because, grasping of the concepts of a subject of one’s own passion is generally easy, and this leads to comprehensive / thorough learning of the subject and provides the opportunity to achieve success in that particular field. To exemplify, Taylor Swift, a world-famous music director and singer, studied music as a major. Thus, in my opinion, people are more likely to succeed if they follow their interests. In conclusion, although science-based subjects provide more employment opportunities, in my perspective, the choice of subjects with respect to the interest and passion often leads to success. Check the Essay New Essay To conclude, universities have to consider the pros and cons of any policy adopted including whether the students are free to pick their subjects or not. Personally, I believe that letting university students prefer their subjects have far more benefits and seem more logical in a broader sense.