Some people think that to learn a second language well it is necessary to live in the country where the language is spoken. What is your opinion about this?

Growing competition these days has made it imperative for individuals to learn a second language, which is generally a foreign jargon. A lot of people might think that residing in a provincial where that language has originated and is widely spoken is important; it definitely gives one an edge, however, it is not necessary. The following paragraphs elaborate on this topic. An individual will definitely get more exposure to the language if he stays in the country where it is spoken, as there he will get to interact with a lot of native speakers of the language. He will get to apply the language and understand nuances at the same time. He will also get timely feedback to correct in case of any mistakes and he will be able to learn it much quickly and easily. He will also get to learn about the history of that place and that language and thus gain an in-depth understanding of how the language originated. For most people, this option is not available as they will not necessarily be able to move to another country just to learn the language. Fortunately, this is not a big problem / hurdle. A lot of training programs and courses are available both online and offline, so that individuals can learn a language of their choice. People from different countries have immigrated to other countries for better opportunities, so native speakers of different languages are spread across the globe. The internet has also made it possible for individuals to have access to trainers or learned speakers of the language, making it possible to get a similar level of exposure to a foreign language from within one’s own country. In these times when the world is getting smaller, a lot of schools offer at-least five to six foreign languages as a part of the curriculum, making it easier for students to learn a second language from an early age. The best example of this is India; it has the second largest population of people speaking English after the United States of America. Therefore, to conclude, I do not think it is necessary for an individual to live in a country where the language he wants to learn is spoken, though it can prove to be an enriching experience.