Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of languages like English. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, English language is getting more used in business, international diplomacy and education. On the other hand, local languages suffer from neglecting and the decline number of its speakers. However, favoring English over local languages has some negative aspects. Firstly and foremost, languages are the crucibles of heritage. Therefore, local languages are our tool to preserve the social norms and the litterateurs of older societies. Thus, failing to preserve local languages will cause the loss of great works. Moreover, as humans, we share collectively all the world heritage, which makes losing one fraction of it a sore loss for all of us. Additionally, future generation will be deprived from their rich legacy. Consequently, neglecting local languages throws many treasures in the drain. Secondly, languages is a way of communications, without it humans become isolated islands. Though using English as a primary language of communications alienates whole communities from taking part in any international dialogue. For example, if an international organisation is to work in a small village in Africa, they will have to communicate with the locals using their language, or else they will not be able to carry on with their mission. Furthermore, the locals will fight the foreign existence in their village, because they will feel sidelined. Therefore, ignoring local languages cuts off the communication with less fortunate societies. In conclusion, although English is widely understood, it should not be a reason to drop out using local languages. Though, humanity will loose an enormous part of its assets, which is a negative impact affects us all.