Do you think that people who work online at home are more productive than office workers or the other way around? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

The Covid19 global pandemic has brought the world to its knees, making us live in what we call the 'new normal'. Part of this new normal is people working from home on their computers. People have always had this doubt, whether working from home is equally efficient and whether it improves productivity compared to working from an office. I feel work from home is more productive than visiting the office to work. First of all, the major advantage of working from home is time saved in travelling to the office. For instance, in a Times Survey, it was reported that Google saved 50,000 man-hours per month which were spent by employes travelling, after they allowed their employees to work remotely. This saved time could be utilized by employees for better work-life balance and on activities they love. Also, people save on fuel cost as well as reduce their carbon footprint. Thus, employees handle their schedule more efficiently. Secondly, the other prominent benefit to employers is the savings in terms of running costs. According to HR Weekly, one of the biggest cost for corporations is the rent and maintenance of office infrastructure. As employees have to less frequently or no longer visit the office, corporations can save millions every month, on resources such as rent, electricity, housekeeping, coffee supplies and much more. Thus, it is a huge incentive for companies making their employees perform their job remotely. To summarise, I am strongly in favour of working from home practice adopted by employers as on one hand it saves time for employees which they can utilize however they like, and on the other, it saves huge costs for employers in terms of rent and other utilities.