Some people think that the most important function of music is to help people relax. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that one of the key purpose of music is to make it easier for listeners to relieve the stress level. In my opinion, I highly agree with this statement because even in my personal life I use music as a tool to reduce stress and as a meditation. Listening to music can have a profound effect on our minds and bodies, especially slow, quiet classical music. This type of music can have a beneficial effect on our physiological functions, slowing the pulse and heart rate, lowering blood pressure, and decreasing the levels of stress hormones. Music, in short, can act as a powerful stress management tool in our lives. For example, in spa salon they turn on a beautiful piano music to make clients to feel relaxed and calm for even better results. Music connects not only with the automatic nervous system such as brain function, blood pressure and heartbeat, but also the limbic system such as feelings and emotions.When slow music is played, the body immediately reacts – the heart blow slows down and blood pressure drops. This causes the breath to slow, which helps release tension in the neck, shoulders, stomach and back. Listening to slow or calming music on a regular basis can help our bodies relax, which over time, means less pain and faster recovery time. In conclusion, it is widely known that music has a powerful effect on our mental and physical health, but rarely people understand that listening to music is able to change people’s life to the same extent as medication.