Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning a foreign language is now often considered to be a dispensable task since computer software programs are able to provide quick and precise real-time language translation. Personally, I disagree with this opinion because the imperfections of such apps might result in misunderstandings and conflicts if speakers rely on them completely. One reason why I think people cannot avoid learning a foreign language is that computerized translators often neglect cultural aspects of languages. Little do people realise that even the most advanced and accurate apps, such as Google and Yandex translators, translate texts literally, word for word. By doing so, they disregard the social norms of communication which are adopted in the culture. For instance, many Russian business emails tend to sound rude if translated in English with the help of Google Translator program. This is because they lack necessary for the professional etiquette “please” and “thank you” phrases, which results in English-speaking people feeling uncomfortable and not wanting to have professional relationships with Russians. Therefore, in order such businesspeople have to learn English to forge bonds with foreign partners and clients. Another reason to consider is that machine translation can choose a wrong analogue among existing synonyms for a word. This is because word meanings do not match up precisely across languages and the implications of such translations taken at face value can cause serious conflicts. This, for example, happened when Donald Trump called Germans “bad” in one of his interviews, which resulted in a serious consternation in German’s media which wondered whether he had meant Germans were evil or wrong in their actions. Had Donald Trump spoken German, he would have been able to clarify on the meaning of his words. In conclusion, I am convinced that the limitations of computerized translations can cause many problems if people rely on them completely. Consequently, learning foreign languages is unavoidable for building deeper relationships and smooth communication across cultures.