Some people believe that family is more important than friends. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Many believe that the importance of family outweighs that of friends. In my opinion, the statement is true because, although friendship is really important in one’s life it can never be above family bonds. Those who advocate that friends are more important claims that as individuals grow up they are more likely to be influenced by their friends. In other words, when people are young they live with their parents or other family members so they share everything with them also, before taking a crucial decision people ask their family’s opinion. But, as they reach adulthood and move to other places for work or studies they live their friends and spend more time with them. Consequently their bond strengthens and individuals get influenced by their friends. Therefore, at that point of life people think friends are of greater importance. Nonetheless, friends pass in and out of our lives but family, they last forever. It is a well known saying that:”Blood is thicker than water”. Since, in difficult times it is our family’s who becomes our strength and helps us come out of it. At a crucial point of time in one’s life they will turn towards their family for advice and support. The reason is, individuals realize that family is something in which we can trust as they always wish for our well-being. This results in strengthening of familial bonds, making family more powerful than friends. In conclusion, even though friends play a very important role in our lives, it is our family bond which is stronger and everlasting. So, in my perspective it is very important to keep in touch with them and maintain healthy relations.