In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Up until a few years ago, the act of smoking at public places was extremely normalised however nowadays various countries have labelled it as unlawful. In fact, it is only fair that smokers should have to exit the premises if required. While many people oppose the aforesaid action, I, on the other hand, incline to support this motive and opine that this activity must be prohibited to a greater extent. In this essay, we will discuss the same in detail along with certain references. Firstly, addicted individuals fail to realise that they are not only playing with their health but are also impacting others with a significant amount of risk. Also, they are enabling themselves to become prone to conditions like cancer, severe lung diseases and many more. For instance, as per a survey conducted by York University, the global count of passive-smokers exceeds the number of active-smokers by a quadruple, which is alarming. Therefore, such activities result in deteriorating the fitness-graph worldwide, which in my view needs to be obstructed. Secondly, the aforesaid actions put our future generation at stake as well. Since the drug problem is a gradually accelerating generic issue, especially amongst adolescents. For example, Punjab is a North-Indian province where 80-85% of teenagers are highly obsessed with the intake of drugs as well as are completely dependant on it. As a result, they fail to recognise their true potential hence indulge in crime eventually and observe a steep decline in their career, which later pushes them in the phase of depression. In conclusion, I would like to vividly emphasize that smoking in any manner must be forbidden at any open space. Instead, it is our responsibility as a citizen to be resilient and take a considerate amount of care of ourselves as well as the well-being of our surroundings too. Moreover, we need to make our younger generation ready for the future by offering them a gift of health in lieu of leading them to a dark melancholic lifestyle.