2. The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Portable gaming system such as console and mobile phone have become widely available. In my opinion, these relatively new form of advertisement does not present major risks for individuals, nor society. One of the main threat of video games is their addictive component, game designers put tremendous efforts into creating games that are as addictive as possible. Their main goal is to hook the player and keep them coming back to the game. I believe that the people who become addicted to the point were it has a negative impact on their life are prone to addictions in the first place. If it was not that it would probably be something else like gambling, or any other form of entertainment.  In fact, many people are addicted to fitness. Video games and fitness have a lot in common in many aspects. Both those activities release high amounts of endorphins, a hormone which is notoriously known for being addictive, and are usually practised individually. The main difference is that fitness is perceived as being healthy, while gaming is not. As a personal trainer who spent a lot of time in gyms, I can ensure that most gym-addict are actually putting their health at risk. To conclude, I think that blaming for video games addictive behaviour enables us not to think about deeper issues and that our society should tackle its addiction issue more broadly, and focus on what might be causing individuals to become addicted rather than focusing on a specific manifestation of it.