Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

In recent years, many global organisations and recruiters have changed their way of evaluating potential employees, leaving traditional aspects such as job experience behind. Instead, they have started to put more emphasis on one’s personality traits and managerial skills. However, leadership is just one of the main attributes a manager has to possess. To begin with, leadership is sometimes a trait individuals are born with, but it can also be something that can be learned through hard work and years of experience. If someone has this quality since he was born, that does not automatically mean that he will become a good leader. Not only proper academic training helps people develop certain management skills, but also exposure to different situations may be of help to one’s managerial career. For instance, many low-grade employees can become a powerful CEO and have a successful career through their diligence and perseverance to be better. To continue, besides managerial skills, many more characteristics are involved in creating an excellent manager. One of them is the ability to inspire co-workers to cooperate for the sake of the company and promote teamwork. An organisation is successful if people work together because they like their workplace environment and respect their leader. Also, a good supervisor is trustworthy and can make sensible decisions in every situation regarding his employees. Earning respect and improving job performance is easier when one’s subordinates are able to discuss everything with their boss, instead of trying to find a solution by themselves. To conclude, a good manager is a person who takes great care of his employees and promotes teamwork, instead of focusing on leadership alone. As a result, many successful organisations have thrived through hardworking individuals and mutual respect between workers and leaders.