The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city centre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jams and pollution have become a major problem in many cities across the globe. It is argued that daily commuters should move to cities’ downtown area to avoid transit as well as release fewer pollutants in the air. I firmly support the idea that concentrating residents in only one district is the best solution. Living in downtown will make people use less individual ways of transportation. Workers who live near their jobs will be able to walk until their offices. This will cause a huge impact on diminishing the carbon dioxide issued on the air. That is to say that commuters will not need a car or another fossil-fueled vehicle to reach their workplace. Thus, fewer pollutants emitted by these types of vehicles will be spread in the atmosphere. As a result, less pollution will be faced. In addition, people will encounter fewer cars on the streets and transit will flow better. Since people will be able to walk to their jobs or school, there is no reason for rush hours to happen. They will also be able to use other methods of transport like riding a bicycle. Another relevant benefit is that residents will have more time to enjoy since they will not spend much time to arrive at their appointments. Therefore, as closer as people live to their work or study venues, the more efficient will be the traffic in a city. To conclude, I strongly agree that people should live in the downtown area to help them arrive at their commitments faster and easier. Also, this will allow residents to use less private fossil-fueled vehicles to reach places they need, helping to issue fewer pollutants.