Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

Violent films and games are extremely profitable among other entertainment productions. While some people find it dangerous to promote such contents and it should be prohibited, others believe that they can provide a nice and relaxed time, without negative consequences. In my opinion, both views can be opposite extremes and regulating the industry might be effective. On one hand, video games and films with war and crime themes tend to explore hate, vengeance, intolerance and reward the criminals at some point. Children constantly exposed to violence, even it being fiction, can be influenced to be more aggressive with their family and colleagues to deal with their issues. For instance, shooting in schools has been more common in the last decades and they are even more frequent in the United States, where most of this content is produced. However, on another hand, the same type of productions can be highly helpful to develop intellectual skills and be actually used as a sport. Generally, video games are also tools to exercise reflex, strategic thinking and gathering people to share a fun experience, as other ancient games are. For example, e-game began to be considered as important and elaborated as the Olympics, having its own international competitions, and created an enormous and dedicated public. From my point of view, the negative effects are heavily serious and can harm other people's security if gamers and spectators can not separate the virtual and the real world. That is why I believe it needs regulation to avoid stimulation of crimes, such as racism, xenophobia, genocide, torture, among others. Therefore, education for the public and limits for audiovisual companies might control the negative effects of visual violence by increasing responsibility for both parts. To sum up, although there are severe effects exploiting the violence as entertainment, there are also other options to prevent them without banning and allowing people to use it only as a harmless hobby.