Many countries plan to ban the sale of petrol and diesel cars in the future, with governments planning to support the use of electric vehicles. Do the advantages of electric vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, there is a plan to totally eliminate the use of fuel for vehicles worldwide and at the same time, most governments will take measures to favour vehicles that utilize electricity instead. There are merits and demerits to this issue, however, I believe that the benefit it would bring to the environment is less significant than the offered convenience of using fuel energy. One of the primary importance of utilizing electricity to run motor vehicles is lessening pollution. To elaborate, gasoline used in cars is burned down in order to produce energy that is required to run the motors. The by-products of this burning process are toxic gases which are eventually released in the atmosphere and in turn, are causing the depletion of the ozone layer. By lowering, or by drastically eliminating, the consumption of petrol, air pollution will be remarkably reduced. For instance, during lockdowns in the time of the current pandemic, it is reported that the ozone layer in the arctic region is now fully recovered after months of reduced usage of motor vehicles globally. However, there are more efficient approaches to cut off air pollution as greenhouse gases are not only produced from vehicles. Nonetheless, vehicles that run through electricity could cause inconvenience for a number of reasons. First, fossil fuel-runned motors are widely available at an affordable price. Productions of these vehicles are mass-produced, hence the price is cheaper than their electrical counterpart which in turn makes it more accessible to a wide number of individuals. Second, the charging points for electrical motor vehicles are scarce, and if ever the government will build more, it will certainly add to the already high operational and maintenance expenses. And lastly, cars that run by petrol are more reliable in the long run especially in the far-flung areas where ordinary mechanics only knew how to fix non-electric cars. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is true that using electricity in lieu of petrol and diesel in cars will greatly contribute to the reduction of air pollutants. However, the overall convenience such as affordability, less operational cost and reliability, vehicles that consume fuels are more favourable in this matter.