The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that offering free public transport all days and seven days a week is considered as the best resolution to fight traffic matters. I partly agree with this solution because it is not a mandatory key to solve traffic congestion. Firstly, it is true that the authorities have to reduce the presence of a large number of private vehicles on the road to ease traffic congestion. However, giving free public transportation access 24 hours all weekdays does not assure that customers can reach to their workplace on time and help them to utilise their time effectively. If the department of transportation improves the frequency and reliability of buses and trains, customers will be able to ride comfortably on public services and reach their destinations on time. Secondly, enhancing the quality of public transports and road system can effectively reduce the occurrence of traffic congestion rather than offer free public services. Whether we want to admit or not, higher classed people prefer to choose qualified buses and trains with an affordable price than unqualified free ones. By having the incomes from tickets, the governments can allocate more resources to buy good-standard buses or trains as well as fix the road and give more space for big public transportations to move on the road. In conclusion, solving traffic problems cannot be mandatorily fixed by providing free services for longer hours. In fact, having smart buses system, which meets the demands of customers, is more effective. Besides, qualified road and public transportations are the keys to persuade the higher classes of people to choose it over the comfy in their private vehicles.