Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

It is not uncommon to see children playing with toys in most of their free time. Owing to this, some parents purchase a large number of toys for their offspring to play with. This situation has both merits and demerits and this essay will discuss them in detail. Admittedly, there are a few benefits for children if they have a large number of toys. First and foremost is that toys assist children in their overall development, both physically and mentally. Every toy is manufactured to satisfy a special need for children. For example, building blocks, alphabets games, doctor’s kit etcetera help children to develop intellectual skills. For instance, studies have shown that children who play with toys are smarter than those who do not have many toys. Additionally, having many toys ensures that they are less likely to get bored. This condition also prevents children from getting involved in wrong activities which is possible if kids go out to play and befriend strangers during their leisure time. Since youngsters are highly vulnerable, they are easily swayed by the company of some wrongdoers. Nevertheless, this phenomenon has significant cons. Firstly, children who have numerous toys tend to become stubborn. This is because if the young one’s every desire for toys always gets fulfilled by their guardian, then they will become demanding which is not good for their holistic development. Sometimes they become disrespectful and do not value their parents’ hard-earned money. Furthermore, having lots of toys means they have fewer opportunities for social interaction. Since children are always busy playing with toys, they fail to interact with others. This reduces their chances of developing and honing interpersonal skills which are imperative to have when adults step into the workplace. To conclude, even though possessing numerous toys is advantageous during the initial period of children’s lives and reduces the risk of them going astray under the influence of outsiders, this has myriad drawbacks which should be considered beforehand as in the long run, the negatives impacts will definitely eclipse the positive ones.