As computers translate quickly and acurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extend do you agree or disagree.

With the constant growth of digitalization, global boundaries are also opening. With a rise in global interaction, many opine that studying other country's language can be replaced by using a computer as they are comparatively more efficient and accurate. I completely disagree with this viewpoint since the usage of a computer has many limitations. In this essay, we will discuss a few of the drawbacks and reach to a conclusion. The first shortcoming is that the language one receives from the internet is very raw and it cannot be used in the situations where one is expected to be perfect. The translation done through the computer is mostly word to word which makes the sentence grammatically incorrect. For example, a person cannot rely on the computer -translated language for giving a formal presentation. However, if that person is trained with the language he could be more confident in the presentation. The second demerit is that it is not a practical option for doing an everyday conversation. Checking the word or sentence online and then speaking it will make the whole process time-consuming. To illustrate, while speaking to a foreign friend, using a computer for every line can be very tedious and frustrating. Therefore, learning the language will be a better choice. To conclude, I completely disagree with the view that it is better to use a computer instead of learning a foreign language as their usage has certain limitations which will not be suitable for someone who needs to use the language in day to day activities.