Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language can be difficult. While some choose to study the language in another country, others prefer learning it at their home one. Although such learning plan can bring some benefits, the disadvantages are far more significant. There are some clear advantages when it comes to learning a language in the country where it is the mother tongue. First, students can have the chance to improve their language competence faster, and reach a higher level of fluency. Since they are exposed to the language every day, through daily conversations with other natives, or get helps from teachers who teach the language there, their language skills can be vastly improved. Second, enrolling a language course in a foreign country can ensure a richer learning experience for students. TV show, literature, or music is a great means of language learning as it contains a variety of cultural elements, making the learning process more exciting and enjoyable for students. Clearly, learning a language abroad can be advantageous. However, there are some definite problems students have to face with when they decide to go to another country for language studying. Firstly, it can be criminally expensive for many students to live in a foreign country since they have to pay for their own bills and accommodation fee. Some may argue that they can do part-time jobs, but it could seem to be not enough to many students. Secondly, living far away from family and friends can result in a sense of isolation and loneliness. It is true that they can make friends, but if these students are not good with the language, it can be hard for them. In addition, new cultures are likely to lead to culture shock among students. Many students can find it hard to adapt to new lifestyles and cultural differences. Thus, these drawbacks can become severe enough to interrupt the learning experience. In conclusion, although some can adapt to cultures and deal with financial issues, if such problems cannot be overcome, students need to think carefully before making any decision. In my view, the disadvantages can eclipse the advantages.