Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many schools are more likely to emphasize STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) and give more importance to them, whereas art is being ignored. I think this is a logically motivated decision but overall negative development. To start with, one implication of the challenge could be pointed out as following remarkable shifts in education tendencies, the circumstances in which subjects related to discipline play crucial role in educational institutions seems to have become more widespread. Sufficient findings show that choosing science field is less risk attended. To be more precise, the government offers more grants to exact sciences such as math, biology, physics, astronomy, whereas craft programmes are usually self-paid. Therefore, students in senior year of school are more tend to choose discipline-related subjects. Thus, hardy anybody can refuse to accept that it is extremely challenging to underestimate this. However, some experts who claim that over-emphasis on information could effect to less craft in the world could consider the point mentioned above debatable. If the disparity between system and profession majors increases, there will be fewer painters, authors, poets. There will be less diversity in craft, consequently,society will become culturally poorer. People could create modern conveniences, but arts are more important for fulfilling and enjoyable life. Nevertheless, it is essential to weigh all the facets of every particular situation. To sum up, the latter judgment is more convincing since it is backed up by my own experience, for I am a social worker who understands the importance of art.