Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people agree that local governments have their responsibilities of investing money in creating more works of art like painting and statues in cities in order to provide a comfortable, picturesque living environment. However, I opine that local governments should use their annual budgets more wisely and invest in essential sectors such as education system, health care service and pollution prevention instead of in arts. Firstly, more arts in public around the cities may lead urban views more beautiful and attractive while it is not a necessary element to maintain the high quality of life for local residents. As comparing to increasing budgets in art creations to create stunning street views, other strategies such as constructing more local roads to reduce traffic jams, planting more trees along the roads, especially in inner cities, and hiring more cleaning workers to keep streets clean are more important and efficient in providing lovely and well-organized urban living habitats for local residents to enjoy their lives. In addition, arts provide a sense of beauty for their audiences, but they are not essential for residents ' daily life. Although modern arts may enhance urban views and create some unique features for local cultures, well-organized and well-funded health care service and excellent educational institutes play a crucial role in residents ' daily life. People can live without arts in cities while social services are definitely disturbed by the lack of proper and well-operating schools or hospitals. Hence, investing limited annual budgets in creating arts across the cities is not a wise strategy whereas spending money on fundamental facilities is a key step to create a better living environment for local residents. Finally, the majority of residents commonly strive for a city with clean air and close-zero pollution to raise their families instead of seeking modern arts. Thus, eliminating and preventing all kinds of pollutions is a key point for local governments to make their cities more environmentally friendly and attractive. Clean air, abundant trees and well-organized residential communities are more significant for residents ' daily life than arts. Unless a city is extremely wealthy with high annual revenue, the annual budget should not be used in creating arts to make a better living environment. However, only a small proportion of the annual budget on arts may be acceptable. In conclusion, financial budgets for local governments are limited. Arts may enhance the beauty of a city, but a lean living environment with low pollution, well-organized public facilities such as hospitals and schools, and well-developed civil blueprints are more crucial to provide a better living condition for local residents. Therefore, it is unwise to invest money in creating arts to decorate the city.