It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred. Do you agree?

It is certainly not an easy task to keep up with technological advancements in the current world. There are many people who think that experienced workers are being cast aside to make way for younger ones, to keep up with modern times. I partially agree with this school of thought and this essay will reflect my take on the debate. Various instances depict that organisations are hiring young candidates to lead the way in today's market. Experienced workers often take time to adapt to the new technological advancements in the workplace, and are set in their old ways of getting results. For instance, according to a recent survey, experienced workers tend to take 30% more time learning about a new application,compared to the younger employees. Moreover, young employees have much more resources available to them to develop a new skill compared to the experienced employees. For example, new courses such as digital marketing have now been added to college curriculums. With that being said, experienced employees prove to be very vital for any organisation. The knowledge of the field and expertise proved by an experienced employee is unmatched. For example,experienced workers can take control of a conference room much better than a young employee. Furthermore, the organisation stands where it does only because of the work carried out by the experienced employees. In conclusion, although experienced workers bring a ton to the table, the employment of young workers is on the rise. Organisations are hiring young workers due to the new skill sets required to keep with the competitors in the marketplace.