Large businesses have budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? what could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Thanks to the globalisation, multinational companies have invaded in small markets. This has captured the attention of many customers from the local community, leading to the declining popularity of local purchases. However, local store owners can counter this effect by improving the quality of their products and offering personalised services. Global businesses have now their outlets in small villages as well. They sale their expensive products on sale with high discounts to attracts the customers from local places. At first glance, this may seem beneficial for the customer but it really is not. The presence of other big store hurts the local businesses and local owners. Therefore, this causes the loss to local store owners as they clients go to other big centres to make purchases. For example, many local artists have lost their livelihood because they have no buyers. Instead of buying handmade products, people prefer to buy factory made items as they look more attractive. If the local people loose ther the livelihood, evntually local purchases will diminsh. The only way for local businesses to complete with gaint international centres is to offer personalised services. In other words, it is not possible for local traders to offer heavy discounts to the buyers as the multinational gaints do. But they do know their customers needs very well. Hence, they may sell personalised items for the clients to offer their best services. In addition, the local owners should improve the quality of there products. This will enable to attract the attention of the buyers and also the customers will return. The government should also intervene to prevent multinational gaints gains from entering certain sectors. In conclusion, When big companies offer discounts to customers, the local ecomomy suffers the most. Howerver, local shopers can deal with this effect by offering improved quality of products and personalised services.