In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern age of technology more people are becoming familiar with e-books. Some even prefer electronic alternatives to their paper ancestors. This essay is aimed to prove that in terms of electronic readers, advantages prevail over drawbacks. The most significant disadvantage of reading an e-book is the fact that it cannot fully substitute a physical book and its most prominent features. Many people choose paper books over electronic ones simply due to the aesthetic of paper. The sheer act of turning pages is meditative and the smell of a newly bought volume is indescribable. When flicking through an electronic book, a reader is deprived of these little yet satisfying details. Thus, for some reading literature made of paper is a matter of taste, which they choose to abide by. On the other side of the spectrum – are the undeniable positive aspects of electronic readers. According to the latest studies, it takes 1 tree to print 10 000 pages, hence a fully issued edition of a best-selling novel may have cost thousands of animals their natural habitat. So, switching from paper to electronic-based literature helps save the planet. Another ultimate advantage of e-books is strongly affiliated with financial matters. Nowadays one can spend quite a sum on paper books, and considering that inflation rates only attribute to a constant increase of prices, people are forced to spend more money on books made of cellulose each year. With electronic literature all it takes is a one-time investment in a reader and a monthly or yearly subscription to a service which provides book lovers with a dose of literature, resulting in major savings. To sum up, e-books are much more favorable than their paper counterparts for a number reasons. Firstly, electronic readers may contribute to decreasing deforestation in the future. Secondly, today more people advocate for e-books as a financially -beneficial alternative.