Many people living in cities these days do not get enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this? What are some possible solutions?

A common opinion is that people who live in big cities tend to spend less time doing physical activities. This essay will provide what are the causes and possible solutions for this trend. There are several factors influencing people not to do exercise in the cities. Firstly, there are few spaces left for people to exercise. Big cities usually have a lack of parks and facilities to do exercise. A full-scale investigation coducted by the BBC has shown that Bejing have under 5% of green areas and only 1 sport facility per 100.000 inhabitants. Secondly, due to the bad quality of the air, people prefer not to do exercise, staying indoor instead. Also, this trend can be atributable to the traffic jam present cities. A great deal of time is involved when people go either to the park or to the gym, because of the heavy traffic of the big cities. However, several approaches could be done in order to encourage people to exercise. The government can make a substantial contribution by encouraging people to do exercises. For example, every Sunday morning, the main streets in Bogota are open only for the edestrian. As a result, there has been a significant increase in people doing exercises on this day. In addition, if the government issues some laws where the preservation of green zones and parks are guaranteed, future generations might have more chances to undertake physical activity. In conclusion, there is no doubt that some city conditions influence people not to do exercise. However, if the right programs are put in place, and if the government support the preservation of green areas in the city, there might be a significant increase of city inhabitants doing exercise.