Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both view and give your opinion

It is true that people spend more time travelling to work or school than they did before. Despite some benefits of this, I believe that it is a negative trend in the long run. On the one hand, there are a number of positive effects of a long time spent on commuting.The first one is that people have better accommodation, more spacious home when they live far from their workplace or institute. With the same amount of money, an inner-city apartment is often smaller and provides less access to nature compared to a house in the suburbs. Therefore, those who live in the suburbs would have a quality of life. Another advantage is that more people travelling farther to work or school mean less traffic congestion in urban areas. In developed countries, such as Japan and Australia, citizens often go to work or school by train because of the distance from their home. As a result of this, the number of private cars on the road dramatically decreases, which aids to ease traffic gridlock in city centres. On the other hand, I believe that more time spent on travelling is a negative trend. The first reason is that people have to wake up earlier in the morning and head back later at night, which means that they have less quality time to relax. They may have to start a day at 5AM to catch a train and come home at 9PM, which literally prevents them from relaxing and taking care of themselves. Also, more time spent on commuting may cause fatigue and lower productivity. Employees tend to show up at their office and students are likely to attend class without necessary energy and vitality to yield good results and focus on lessons because they are too tired after a long trip. Therefore, in the long run, they may have some health problems due to the fact that they have no free time to relax and rest. In conclusion, while there are certain benefits of living far from towns or city centres, I firmly believe that overall the drawbacks are more significant