Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

There are some debates about having a set retirement age for everybody is unfair, and workers from certain occupations deserve to retire and receive a pension earlier than others. This is usually defended for people from heavy work. I personally believe that the reason why we have a standard period is to guarantee the equality, regardless of occupation, because just as we have the professions that affect physical health, we also have those that affect the mental health. Ultimately, I disagree about changing the current rule. People in some occupations like construction, agriculture or even heavy industry, can feel affected physically over the years by the labour work, and they may think they deserve to retire earlier than other workers, those in administrative professions por exemplo, that supposedly have an easier job routine. However, which is not considered in this case, is the stress and pressure that some of these areas can cause and the diseases associated with this. The research can prove that a stressful environment can be responsible for the appearance of mental and physical diseases. In resume, both scenarios can affect a professional in different ways. A second point to be considered is that most people change their jobs and position a lot of times during their working lives. For instance, a person can produce for twenty years in manual labour and transit to a seller position in the last years until get retired, or the opposite, start working in an administrative area and move to heavy work. Which means that there is so many scenarios and variables that is difficult to define when would be correct to retire earlier and when not. To sum up, besides the fact that some jobs are harder than others, there are many variables to evaluate in order to change the rules about the age of retirement. For now, I guess the fair is having a set retirement age.