Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes believed that universities emphasize on helping students to attain a good position in companies after graduation, others think that they can do a lot more than that by benefiting both the student and the community. In my opinion, I argue that colleges can nurture them to become a better citizen rather than placing them in any position in the corporate world. On the one hand, certain people have perspective about the universities that they primarily focus on students getting placement every academic year. This is because colleges market themselves as they assist students to get a job right after their course completion and consequently, they will attract more people to join their campus. For instance, top universities in the UK's main tagline in their advertisement is that they guarantee 100% job after successful completion of the course. Thus, people believe that the main focus of these institutes is to help graduates to get a good position in any company. In stark contrast, along with others, I strongly believe that the graduate educational institutions can build a strong citizen who befits the community. The reason behind this is they not only concentrate on the academic, but also the social responsibilities of an individual. In other words, in fact, socio-political studies are a part of their curriculum. In India, for example, after the NDA government came into existence, they compelled all the educational bodies to include socio-political as a module to develop such responsibilities in student's mind before entering into the society. In conclusion, even though there are different views about the aim of universities, I conclude that the university holds a vital role in nurturing responsible citizens.