Humans tend to copy one another, especially in fashion, choice of clothes, and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As regards the way people dress and the products that they buy humans tend to purchase the same items as other people in society. Personally, I agree entirely with this statement and in the following paragraphs reasons for this standpoint shall be explained. Firstly, humans replicate the behaviour of others as it gives them a feeling of security and belonging. This therefore encourages them to dress similarly and own the same products. Individuals who choose not to adhere to the same social norms as others tend to face discrimination and are less likely to be able to progress in life to the same degree. For instance, one certain sub-culture of the UK is known as ‘Goths’ and they traditionally wear all black clothes as an indication of their membership of this group. These individuals are often perceived as not part of mainstream society and may therefore be treated differently. Allied to the above, humans are competitive by nature and this characteristic often forces people to make purchases as a way to indicate how successful they are in life. The more successful they are the more indulgent their purchases become. However, there is a trend for people to buy the same things, first a better car, then a bigger more luxurious house, and then perhaps a longer holiday. However, all of these items tend to be very similar in their core nature. Afterall, there really is not a significant difference between the 2018 and the 2017 version of Nike Air trainers. Overall, human nature and their need for a sense of security ensure that they shall inevitably continue to purchase items that are similar in nature. For these reasons, I maintain my position that humans do base their behaviour and spending patterns on what other members of society are also buying.