Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the job market today, both employers and employees would like to have a basic understanding and insight as to what kind of people they are about to work with. This helps both parties decide whether they are a good fit for each other. For this insight to be gotten, a number of questions and research has to be done. For a prosective employer, they would like to pick the best candidate for the job role advertised. Oftentimes, this is beyond academic qualifications or work experience. An understanding of the kind of person the candidate is might give an employer more confidence in the person the eventually select. To achieve this and to gain a well-rouned perception of a candidate, some personal questions need to be asked. On the other hand, a lot of people believe that their resumes submitted should be good enough for an employer to decide to go with them or not. Work and personal lives do not need to mix, hence an employer need not know what I like to do in my free time. Personally, I am of the opinion that organizations I'm looking to work with do not need to know much about what makes me human. As long as I meet their basic requirements for the position and deliver on my key point indicators (KPIs), then I am good to go. I would not want to feel like I need to disclose private information about things I enjoy before I am seriously considered for a job that I am otherwise qualified for.