Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

Both genders are more increasingly obsessed with their beauty than in the past by spending most of their money on beauty products. This essay will show how the advent of social media has made this phenomenon to gain popularity among men and women, followed by a discussion of how it can lead to increase the psychological problems such as depression because of this trend. Social media is regarded as a major cause of shifting attention toward aesthetic pleasure. Men compete women in taking care of their skin in order to expand their fan base by purchasing the products that make their skin look younger and glowy. The more they look beautiful, the more likely they are to attract more followers on their social media pages. A recent study made by Oxford University, 78% of females were more likely to spend above 200 dollars on personal care while 62% went for males. Furthermore, celebrities and micro-influencers have demonstrated the impact of beauty care on their personal and working life through their accounts. These social media influencers have created an idealistic picture of the natural beauty, which have stimulated both genders to strive toward enhancing their beautification. Kylie Jenner is a prime example, who has more than 200 million followers on Instagram because she promoted for her beauty line product by using her face as a way to attract people to buy her products. A dire consequence of this phenomena, people would suffer from psychological problems. beauty obsession has a vast impact on the innate state of emotion, which makes people more vulnerable to a number of mental illness. Lack of confidence, anxiety and depressions are all common instances of mental problems that resulted from the pressures of buying the latest products in the beauty industry. The Sunday Times recently reported that 65% of people lost their confidence when their skin did not look bright similar to beauty bloggers although they buy the products that were recommended by those influencers. To sum up, it seems that both genders are more interested in purchasing makeup and skincare products than in the past. This trend is caused by the impact of social media that propels men and women to strive toward the ultimate beautification. As a result, it affects negatively the feelings and the mindset of people.