Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. Do you agree or disagree?

Pollution is the most pressing and have become a much greater threat to the environment. Because of that, it is a popular opinion amongst people that many private industries and certain people must contribute financially to mitigate the ill effects of their actions harming the atmosphere. Undoubtedly, humans and many companies are responsible for polluting the mother earth and hence, it is their moral responsibility to contribute financially in the process of healing the environment. The pollution caused by releasing the toxic gases in the air has severely impacted the air which the people breathe. Clearly, the pollution caused by various industries and individuals have not only caused global warming but also affected public health. In order to undo their actions it is necessary for them to own up and start paying for their actions to reduce pollution. In order for them to pay for the pollution, it is very much necessary to quantify the pollution caused. Evidently, in many western countries, the quantification was possible by calculating the carbon footprint. For instance,in Bhutan, everyone has to pay taxes for their carbon footprint annually. Furthermore, this payment mechanism based on the carbon footprint can not only reduces the air pollutants but also pave way for innovation. People tend to neglect the possibility of alternative methods of production in industries as it was very much convenient. Now, upon implementation of penalties towards harmful impacts on the surrounding, companies will bring innovative solutions which will eventually help in curbing the level of pollutants. Use of renewable source of energy in producing electricity is one of the best examples of out of the box thinking in conserving nature. To conclude, the idea of payment towards people's action causing harm to the atmosphere has the power of reducing the pollution at a large extent. This will help people understand their responsibility towards nature and will aid governments around the globe in creating awareness by holding its citizens accountable for their deeds.