Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

The count of people having their personal cars in cities has escalated very quickly over the last thirty years which has led cities to look like to a huge traffic jam. In my opinion, this is true to a great extent as roads have become packed with these cars always hindering the smooth flow of traffic. The government can improve this situation by implementing laws like applying more taxes on owning more than one car, reducing the fares of public transport and making it comfortable enough for its users. The statement agrees with the road rash that is seen nowadays. The roads being jam-packed with a huge sea of cars flooding them has become a very common observation. In the past, only a few people had their own cars and a relatively larger proportion of public utilized public transportation buses; but this has reversed over a period of thirty years as trends have changed towards the purchase of personal cars instead of local transportation usage. In small cities of Pakistan like Bahawalpur, this has caused massive road blocks due to multiple lanes of cars piling up on roads, especially during working days. This has urged the National Highway Authorities to install signals on roads to allow the movement to flow smoothly, especially in the peak hours. Multiple approaches can be adapted by the Government to restrict people from buying more and more cars for their individual use. One good way to address this is to apply multiple taxes on the purchase of cars, especially for people having more than one. This has been done by the Pakistan Government which has led to discouragement of personal car purchase in the past few years. Another way to deter people from owning cars is to lower down the fares they have to pay for public transport. Moreover, Public buses can be made on a structure that is physically comfortable to use. For example, the Speedo Bus Service in Lahore and Multan being built on the design of international buses, and having relatively much lower fares than other transportation services, has allowed people to utilize this service preferably. Therefore,In conclusion, even though the excessive road traffic in cities is a major issue, It can be overcome by lowering transport fares and implying heavy taxes on personal vehicles.