10. The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city center. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, traffic and pollution are the major problems seen in any metropolitan area. Some are of the opinion that these problems can be reduced by the relocation of the people from small towns around the city to its centre. However, I cannot totally agree with this idea. On the one hand, people are into the proposal that moving into the centre of the city will help the environment because if the individuals can move near to their workplace in a metropolis, then instead of taking their own vehicle they can use either public transport or can walk to their office, thus reducing the traffic and decreasing the environmental abuse. For example, if we have frequent public buses in our area, we will be more likely to take it, as it costs low. Consequently, we will be able to decrease the number of vehicles on the road. On the other hand, if more people come to live in the cities, they will pollute the environment in some way or another. Firstly, as the number of individuals increases, if garbage collection is not taken care of, that will affect the health of every person. As a result, medical issues start even in a healthy person. Secondly, the traffic during the weekends increases as everyone likes to come out to malls and public cinema halls if those are nearer to them. Thus, indirectly increasing the pollution caused by individual vehicles. Lastly, rents will increase due to the higher demand for housing. For instance, landlords are fixing the prices based on the tenant's income range. This way, paying rent will become a burden to that family. To conclude, even though some think that shifting to a prime area from smaller towns may help the environment in the city, disadvantages are dominating the advantages. Hence, I disagree with this opinion to a large extent.