Many students around the world are not choosing science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What effects will this have on society?

Students opt for other subjects at the universities instead of science as per the latest trends. I will discuss both the reasons and the effects of this scenario in this essay. Firstly, the main reason for not selecting science subjects is cost. The course fee is generally higher, which becomes the hindrance for many students. For instance, I wanted to study graduation from science stream and charge for the three years fees was almost double than my budget. So, I ended up opting commerce in the college. Secondly, it is very difficult to do self-study of subjects like Physics, Chemistry and Biology at the graduation level. For that, students require the constant supervision of their professors. Additionally, It demands a routine study of long hours which is challenging itself. On the other hand, it affects society in every way. A science graduate becomes a doctor, an engineer and even a scientist. However, in the current era, we require more number of science graduates. We require many engineers in every sector to fulfil the demand of globalisation. For example, as per current trends of the global health index, we need a high number of doctors in each part of the world. Last but not the least, the consistent advents in the technology is required from the scientists for the evolvement of human. To recapitulate, it would be very difficult for the world, if there would be fewer science students, there would less growth of the technology. As science is the base of many inventions in this universe.