We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweigh the advantages. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s technological era, the internet has been a boon to this world; however, it has also brought various security threats along with it. I strongly agree that the internet has more benefits than drawbacks due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in this essay. It is evident that the internet has benefited people in two obvious ways: firstly, it has made communication cost-effective, and secondly, it provides useful information to the people. The Internet has not only made communication easier, but has made it quicker and cheaper too. For example, with the help of mobile internet, I can easily share unlimited messages or talk with my friends on WhatsApp; therefore, it doesn’t cost me extra money other than the internet charges. The internet is a vast bank of knowledge where everyone can get any type of information. To exemplify, whether looking for an address or doing an assignment or a project, nowadays, people prefer to surf the internet to find solutions for their basic queries. However, the internet does have two major drawbacks: absence of regulations on information sharing and security threat of valuable data getting stolen. With the internet being an open platform, anyone can easily share personal information over it. For instance, on social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, anyone can easily share personal photos or messages; thus, it can cause a threat to their personal security. Moreover, hackers can snoop crucial data related to banking or office projects. To illustrate, recently a hacker took away millions of dollar in a flash by hacking the bank servers in Bangladesh. In conclusion, I am strongly inclined to the opinion that the internet is more beneficial in terms of facilitating communication and providing knowledge, provided that the cyber security is increased more to prevent hacking and misuse of private information.