Many students around the world are not choosing science subject at university? What are the reasons for this? What affects will this have on society?

Technological advancements all over the world have made our lives easy. All this has become possible due to science. However, the recent statistic shows that the percentage of students opting for science subjects has dropped significantly. This essay will discuss the reasons for the decline in the number of students and its possible impact on society. Nowadays, the focus of the young generation has shifted from serving nation towards the accumulation of wealth. They are more inclined towards selecting a field which has a more promising career in future in terms of income and power. For instance, a study published by a local newspaper in Karachi showed that around 70% of the school going will opt commerce in their higher studies, while 10% will go for MBBS and only the remaining will select science as their major subject. Further, the lack of industrialisation in many third world countries also plays a vital role in discouraging the youth to make their career in this field because of the lack of job opportunities in this sector. The declining trend of choosing science will adversely affect our nation in the longer run. Lack of interest of young blood will result in a slow down of new innovations due to the absence of new fresh ideas. To conclude this, I would say that special measures such as offering scholarships should be introduced to attract the youth. Further awareness sessions should be arranged in various schools to emphasize the importance of science and how it contributes to the welfare of society.