Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead, they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

It is important to know what type of punishment serves better criminals to keep society safe. While some people are of the opinion that all sort of offender should spend sometimes on the jail, I believe that those who are committed in victimless crime it is better to give them community service instead. To begin with, the purpose of detention of lawbreakers is to keep society safe. It is because those who break the law has been considered a danger to the public. In the case of violent case, like homicide, it is been said that the preparators should stay away from others. However, those who are sentenced for the victimless crime, take burglary as an example, they do not expose the public to danger. If sentence those nonviolent criminals in the jail will bring about the high cost for the taxpayers. Moreover, it has not appeared that they will not commit the same wrongdoing after release from prison. In the case of punishment, personally, I believe that penalties should reform people, so they do not tend to re-offend. By putting nonviolent criminals in prisons in which there are mixed with dangerous offenders, like murders, they are more likely to commit a worse after releasing. If they are given a chance to work in community service not only, they develop emotionally with others by learning empathy also, society will take a benefit. In the other hand, critics of this with the rehabilitative approach justify that to deter preparator from criminal justice should be harsh toward them and community services are not that much strict so less likely to have that effect. Nevertheless, evidence proves that prison sentences deter criminals. In conclusion, in my opinion, putting criminals who have not shown danger to society in prison does not deter them from re-offend and may not reform them. Moreover, keeping them in jails cost expensive while community service tends to be more beneficial for both sides, offenders, and society.