Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As social media is a renowned platform between different age group persons, it has been argued by many individuals that circulation of private details on such platforms brings more risk. However, there are many merits associated with it like making connections, networking which involves sharing of personal details and also there are demerits associated like fraudulent activities. This essay will discuss both aspects. To commence with, social media platforms have made our lives easier. In this technology-driven world, individuals are able to keep in contact with old friends, make new friends and also be informed about the daily happenings in the world. The job search has also become easier compared to olden days. People are so addicted to such media that they spend long hours on it as an outcome of which personal details get shared by means of chatting with known friends or starting a friendship with new friends. It has also happened that with the help of such sites like Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn people are able to find life partners or land up getting a good job as a result of networking. For instance in India, 60% of the population finds their career path with the help of social media. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages also. As people are sharing personal matters with persons on online media it has so happened that such information has got misused. This is because people are not aware of what is happening in the mind of the other person. As it is a virtual platform, in the case of an unknown person, it is difficult to know the other person's intentions which give rise to spreading of the personal information shared among the masses. This is extremely dangerous as somebody's privacy is getting disturbed and it can also result in crimes like rape, molestation, robbery. For instance, in India, 60% of the individuals share their personal information in social media with persons who actually do not exist. Such individuals create fake accounts and chat with people with the motive of committing crimes and frauds. To conclude, although sharing of personal information on virtual media has lots of advantages like building new connections, finding new employability it also has demerits which may result in fraudulent activities and crimes.