Some people believe that having interviews is the best way to find new employees for a company. Others say that there are better alternative ways to appoint employees. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Hiring new employees is tremendously important for companies development. To find the best way of contracting more workers is a key factor to put organizations one step ahead of others. Some feel that interviews are the most appropriate method to hire new employees while others believe that alternative ways are better. In my opinion, interviewing is the best way because only face-to-face interaction allows interviewers to understand the real strengths and weaknesses of the applicants. Interviewers can only identify candidates’ implicit behaviours personally. In general, resumes only bring up the best of the job-seekers qualities as they need to excel in an enormous quantity of other applicants. So, the interview is necessary to confirm if the skills shown in their curriculum are real. This is only possible because some interview techniques can be used to check some applicants abilities, such as communication, behaviour under pressure and logical thinking. That is why I agree that interviews are necessary for every hiring process. On the other hand, some believe that different ways of hiring are better than interviews. Technical knowledge can be tested only through online tools. If the company is only looking for someone with specific knowledge, this can be checked with other methods such as computer tests and comparing previous work portfolios. Some other ways of hiring can be useful in case of hiring a graphic designer, for example. Since companies are specifically looking for the quality of the material developed by these professionals. However, if companies do not run an interview session with these applicants, they cannot see some weaknesses, such as lack of teamwork, communication and lack of presentation skills. As a result, candidates can have good technical knowledge but will fail in the company environment. To conclude, other alternative methods to hire new employees can be useful for some types of positions, but interviewing is a vital part of the hiring process as the companies can see the intimate behaviour of job-seekers. That is why I believe that to a company succeed in finding new workers, interviewing is the best way.